Simulation

Business Unit Process, Device and Packaging Technology

With digital models we support development and optimization of novel fabrication processes for semiconductor and nano-technology. For many chemical (CVD, ALD, ALE) and physical (sputtering) structuring and deposition processes we have calibrated models. We study processes using  digital models from vom wafer-level up to the details of complex 3D-micro- und nanostructures. By this we can predict film-geometries or –composition within challenging structures or to optimize processes to achive the desired filme geometry. Atomistic und physiko-chemical models complement our digital process model portfolio from the individual process to complete technologies.
For the simulation of materials and devices we offer advanced methodology on all relevant length scales – from atom to device. Using our material models we can predict how processes determine the materials structure as well as the properties of fabriacted devices. For this we rely on atomically defined materials-structure-models which we link to electronic property models. We have long standing expertise in classical semiconductors lile Si, Ge, or SiGe as well as with carbon electronics or nanowires-based devices.
With our partners and customers we develop novel models for the digital prototyping of fabrication processes and devices. Model calibration and refernence experiments are planned in all our projects to achieve reliable predictions by simulation.

 

Simulation of Devices

 

Simulation of Processes

Simulation

Business Unit »Process, Device and Packaging Technology«

Mit digitalen Modellen unterstützen wir Entwicklung und Optimierung neuartiger Fertigungsprozesse der Halbleiter- und Nanotechnologie. Für viele chemische (z.B. CVD, ALD, ALE) und physikalische (z.B. Sputtern) Prozesse der Abscheidung und Strukturierung haben wir kalibrierte Modelle. Prozesse untersuchen wir mit digitalen Modellen vom Waferlevel bis in die Details komplexer 3D-Mikro- und Nanostrukturen. Damit ist es beispielsweise möglich, Schichtgeometrien oder –zusammensetzungen in anspruchsvollen Strukturen vorherzusagen oder Prozesse für Zielgeometrien zu optimieren. Atomistische und physikochemische Modelle ergänzen unser Portfolio an digitalen Prozessmodellen vom Einzelprozess bis zur Technologie.


Für die Simulation von Materialien und Bauelementen bieten wir vielfältige moderne Methoden auf allen erforderlichen Längenskalen – vom Atom bis zum Bauelement. Damit können wir Einflüsse der Prozesse auf die gefertigten Materialien Strukturen ebenso vorhersagen, wie die Eigenschaften der gefertigten Nanobauelemente. Im Zentrum stehen dabei atomar definierte Material-Strukturmodelle, die wir mit Eigenschaftsmodellen vor allem für elektronische Eigenschaften verknüpfen.  Wir haben langjährige Erfahrungen im Bereich klassischer Halbleitermaterialien wie Si, Ge, oder SiGe aber auch mit Kohlenstoffelektronik und Nanodraht-basierten Bauelementen.
Mit unseren Partnern und Kunden entwickeln wir ständig neue Modelle für das digitale Protoyping von Fertigungsprozessen oder Bauelementen. Gemeinsam planen wir Kalibrierung und Referenzexperimente, um verlässliche Vorhersagen durch Simulation zu erzielen.

 

Simulation von Bauelementen

 

Simulation von Prozessen