Intelligent Sensor and Actuator Systems

The »Intelligent Sensor and Actuator Systems« business unit sees itself as a pioneer in the development of innovative sensors and actuators and their integration into application-oriented systems. The aim of the research is to realize these systems through novel components based on future-oriented technologies, which significantly expand the state of the art with intelligent system integration and are tailored to the requirements of the respective users.

The business unit focuses on the following topics:

 

Inertial Components and Systems

One focus is the development of high-precision, silicon-based sensors for measuring acceleration, vibration, inclination and rotation rate as well as combined sensor systems. The entire value chain is covered, from the design of MEMS elements or system design to technology development, prototype production, characterization and system testing.

 

Microfluidics for Lab-on-Chip Systems

Lab-on-chip systems, i.e. small analysis units, are increasingly enabling decentralized measurements of chemical and biochemical parameters. If the systems are additionally portable, they are also referred to as on-site analysis systems. The areas of application range from human and veterinary diagnostics to food quality and safety to environmental analysis.

 

Optical Components and Systems

The R&D focus is on spectral sensors, controllable filters (FPIs), wavelength-selective emitters and absorbers (metamaterials), flexible light source arrays (quantum dots, QDs), and miniaturized spectrometer systems for hyperspectral imaging (HSI) and hyperspectral LIDAR with end-use applications for consumer, automotive, medical, and agriculture.

 

Hybrid and Wireless Sensors und Systems

The focus of research and development is on holistic solutions for the areas of smart farming (environmentally friendly sensors) and smart power (monitoring of supply networks, wireless power supply to sensor and actuator systems) as well as structurally integrable, wireless sensor systems for industrial applications and the digitalization of production.

 

RF Components and Systems

In the field of  RF components (RF MEMS switches, tunable capacitors, reconfigurable phase shifters, micro-coils), RF circuits and PCBs are designed, technologies for the implementation of RF MEMS- are developed and laboratory samples as well as prototypes are manufactured. As a test service, RF parameters are characterized at the wafer, component and module level.

Intelligent Sensor and Actuator Systems

Die Business Unit »Intelligent Sensor and Actuator Systems« versteht sich als Wegbereiter bei der Entwicklung von innovativen Sensoren und Aktoren und deren Integration in applikationsnahe Systeme. Ziel der Forschung ist es, diese Systeme durch neuartige Komponenten auf der Basis zukunftsorientierter Technologien zu realisieren, die mit intelligenter Systemintegration den Stand der Technik wesentlich erweitern und auf die Ansprüche der jeweiligen Anwender zugeschnitten sind.

Der Fokus des Geschäftsbereichs liegt auf folgenden Themenfeldern:

 

Inertiale Komponenten und Systeme

Ein Schwerpunkt ist die Entwicklung von hochpräzisen, siliziumbasierten Sensoren zur Messung von Beschleunigung, Vibration, Neigung und Drehrate sowie kombinierte Sensorsysteme. Die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette wird abgedeckt, vom Design der MEMS-Elemente bzw. dem Systemdesign über Technologieentwicklung, Prototypenfertigung bis zur Charakterisierung und dem Systemtest. 

 

Mikrofluidik für Lab-on-Chip-Systeme

Lab-on-Chip-Systeme, d. h. kleine Analyseeinheiten, ermöglichen immer mehr dezentrale Messungen von chemischen und biochemischen Parametern. Sind die Systeme zusätzlich portabel, werden sie auch als vor-Ort-Analysesysteme bezeichnet. Die Anwendungsbereiche erstrecken sich dabei von Human- und Veterinärdiagnostik über Nahrungsmittelqualität und -sicherheit bis hin zu Umweltanalysen.

 

Optische Komponenten und Systeme

Der FuE-Fokus liegt auf spektralen Sensoren, steuerbaren Filtern (FPIs), wellenlängenselektiven Emittern und Absorbern (Metamaterialien), flexiblen Lichtquellenarrays (Quantum Dots, QDs) sowie miniaturisierten Spektrometersystemen für die hyperspektrale Bildgebung (HSI) und hyperspektrales LIDAR mit Endanwendungen für Consumer, Automotive, Medizintechnik und Landwirtschaft.

 

Hybride und drahtlose Sensoren und Systeme

Im Zentrum von Forschung und Entwicklung stehen gesamtheitliche Lösungen für die Bereiche Smart Farming (umweltfreundliche Sensoren) und Smart Power (Monitoring von Versorgungsnetzen, kabellose Energieversorgung von Sensor- und Aktorsystemen) sowie strukturintegrierbare, drahtlose Sensorsysteme für industrielle Anwendungen und die Digitalisierung der Produktion.

 

HF-Komponenten und Systeme

Im Themenfeld werden HF-Komponenten (HF-MEMS-Schalter, abstimmbare Kapazitäten, rekonfigurierbare Phasenschieber, Mikrospulen), HF-Schaltungen und PCBs entworfen, Technologien zur Umsetzung von HF-MEMS entwickelt, Labormuster und Prototypen hergestellt. Als Testservice werden auf Wafer- und auf Komponenten- und Modulebene HF-Parameter charakterisiert.